Services available by phone, fax and online

We continue to process mailed and faxed requests for vital records. Staff are also monitoring and responding to emails during the closure.

For assistance with vital records, please email RRES.vitalrecords@hennepin.us.

Service center information

Mailed and faxed requests for vital records are being processed. Staff are also responding to emails during the closure. For assistance with vital records, please email us at RRES.vitalrecords@hennepin.us.

REAL ID deadline extended one year to October 1, 2021

The new date for obtaining your REAL ID is October 1, 2021. Until then, your standard driver’s license or ID card is still valid for identification and lawful driving privileges, domestic air travel and access to most federal facilities.

Always check with your destination to confirm ID requirements. For more information on REAL ID and where to apply, visit the MN Department of Public Safety.

Expiring MN driver’s license/state IDs extended

The State legislature has passed a COVID-19 response bill. The bill extends the expiration of driver’s licenses, state IDs and disability certificates or permits that would have expired during this time. Expiration dates will be two months from when the health emergency is declared over.

Out of state licenses may be used in Minnesota for more than 60 days.

Expand all information

Government Center Service Center

This location is closed until further notice.

We continue to monitor and respond to phone calls and emails during the closure.

For assistance, please email us at license.gc@hennepin.us.

Phone hours – 612-348-8240

  • Phones are answered Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Services available online during closure

Holiday closings

2020 holiday closings

Day Date Holiday
Wednesday 1/1/2020 New Year's Day 2020
Monday 1/20/2020 Martin Luther King Day
Monday 2/17/2020 Presidents Day
Monday 5/25/2020 Memorial Day
Friday 7/3/2020 Independence Day observed
Saturday 7/4/2020 Independence Day
Monday 9/7/2020 Labor Day
Wednesday 11/11/2020 Veterans Day – all centers closed
Friday 11/26/2020 Thanksgiving Day
Friday 11/27/2020 Thanksgiving Friday
Wednesday 12/23/2020 University of Minnesota - Coffman Union closed
Thursday 12/24/2020 Christmas Eve Day – all centers closing at 2 p.m.
Friday 12/25/2020 Christmas Day
Wednesday 12/30/2020 University of Minnesota - Coffman Union closed 
Friday 1/1/2021 New Year's Day 2021
Collapse all information
Top