The documents listed under Instructions require examiner's approval before filing with the registrar of titles. There is no fee for examiner’s approval. Examiner approval can only be obtained when submitting documents to the Registrar of Titles for recording. The recording department will electronically route them to our office, we will approve them electronically and route them back to the recording department to complete the recording process. The examiner’s approval will appear on the cover sheet of the recorded document. Examiner approvals are completed within 24 hours of receiving them from the recording department.
Uniform conveyancing forms / Minnesota.gov (mn.gov)
Minnesota Title Standards
Instructions, checklists and avoiding common errors
- All documents submitted must be originals or certified copies.
- Certified copies should not be taken apart.
- All documents must be complete and ready to be filed (signed, dated and notarized).
- Proof-read all documents and check that the acknowledgement/verification is complete and in the correct form.
Attorney-in-fact for individual deed (power of attorney) (PDF, 1MB)
Approval is only required if an individual granted the power of attorney. Approval is not required for corporate (bank) attorney-in-fact deeds.
To avoid common errors, before you submit your attorney-in-fact deed, power of attorney and affidavit of attorney-in-fact, check to make sure:
- The acknowledgement is in the representative capacity format “______ as attorney-in-fact for ______"). (Minnesota Statute 358.66 (a)(2).
- Paragraph 1 of the affidavit is filled in with the correct date of the power of attorney. (Minnesota Statutes, 523.17, Subdivision 1) (UCB Form 100.2.1)
- The affidavit is signed and verified the same day or after the deed is dated or acknowledged, whichever is later. Example: deed is dated January 1; deed is acknowledged January 4; the affidavit must be signed January 4 or later.
- If a successor attorney-in-fact is acting, you are submitting the appropriate affidavit to show the successor’s authority (Minnesota Statute 523.16) (UCB Form 100.2.2).
Claim of unregistered interest (PDF, 1MB)
Per Minnesota Statute 508.70, see UCB Form 40.7.1
Divorce decree (PDF, 1MB)
A decree of dissolution or summary real estate disposition judgment must be approved to transfer title if there is no deed from the divested owner.
Probate transfer (PDF, 1MB)
Includes instructions for deed of sale, deed of distribution, decree of distribution, summary proceedings, decree of descent, conservator’s deed, protected arrangements, and tips for avoiding common errors.
Before you submit your deed from a personal representative and probate documents, check to make sure:
- The deed is dated and acknowledged the same day or before the certification date of the letters.
- The deed is dated and acknowledged at least 30 days after the issuance of the "letters" in an informal probate.
- The required Notice to Commissioner of Human Services (UCB Form 70.3.1) and Affidavit (UCB Form 70.3.4), (Minnesota Statute 524.3-801) accompany your Deed of Distribution/Decree of Distribution.
- If 70 days have not passed from the day notice was served on the commissioner, you are also submitting a consent to early distribution (UCB Form 70.3.7).
Transfer on death deed (TODD) clearance (PDF, 1MB)
When all grantor owners are deceased, the registrar of titles will require examiner of titles approval before issuing a new certificate of title to the TODD grantees.
Trustee's deed / plat signed by trustee (PDF, 1MB)
Only individual and testamentary trust deeds need examiner’s approval. Approval is not required for corporate (bank) trust deeds.
Before you submit your trustee's deed, certificate of trust and affidavit of trustee, check to make sure:
- The affidavit is signed and verified the same day or after the deed is dated and executed, whichever is later. Example: deed is dated January 1; deed is acknowledged January 4; the affidavit must be signed January 4 or later.
- The affidavit has the correct date (and recording information if already recorded) of the certificate of trust.
- Paragraph 3 of the affidavit is filled in with information about the trustee's deed you want to file. The 3 blanks are for the grantor, grantee, and date of the trustee's deed.
- You are using the current statutory forms for the certificate of trust, see UCB Form 90.1.1 if the trustee is an individual, or UCB Form 90.1.2 if the trustee is a business entity (Minnesota Statute 501C.1013).
- You are using the current statutory form for the affidavit of trustee, see UCB Form 90.1.3 for an inter vivos trust, or UCB Form 90.1.4 for a testamentary trust (Minnesota Statute 501C.1014, Subd.2).