To be considered for licensure, you must complete training. Currently, there are 2 options to complete the required training:
At the in-person training, you will receive information related to “How to get licensed” with an opportunity to have your questions answered. At the end of the training, paper copies of the application will be made available. Registration is not required for the in-person training.
In-person training will be held on Thursday, January 23, 2020, from 6–7 p.m.
The location will be:
Hennepin County Library – Brookdale
Conference rooms AB
6125 Shingle Creek Parkway, Brooklyn Center 55430
Parking is free, on the south side of the building. The conference rooms are located just to the left of the library.
- Sign in or create an account
- There's a step between creating an account and using the account: eGov sends you a confirmation email and you have to verify your account before you can use it.
- Select Health and Human Services, scroll down to Learn, then, CCL Online Orientation, and click Launch
If you are having trouble accessing the online orientation or the system is not working, please call the help desk number for GovDelivery at 612-543-2200, Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.
You can also read about how to become licensed:
Once you have completed the on-line orientation training and you have sent the required email to firstname.lastname@example.org you will be added to our list of people interested in starting the application process. Currently the licensing process will take a minimum of 9 to 12 months. Completed applications are processed in the order they are received.
Complete and mail the packet with a check for $50 made out to Hennepin County. Incomplete packets including those with no check will be returned. A complete application includes:
- Family Systems Licensing Application (signed and notarized)
- FCC and LNL Data Collection form for each person in household 13+ years of age (signed for each person)
- Copy of current Photo ID for each person for whom you are submitting a data collection form
- Landlord permission for Fire Inspection (if you don’t own the property)
- Signed Certificate of Compliance for Minnesota Worker’s Compensation law
- Hennepin County Physical Environment Questionnaire
- Home Safety Checklist
- Check or money order for $50 made out to Hennepin County
Training for applicants
Prior to obtaining your license, any caregiver must complete specific training approved by the Minnesota Department of Professional Development. You may need to register on the Develop website http://www.developtoolmn.org/. The following training is required:
- Child Growth and Development Behavior Guidance (4 hours) (KCF II.C)
- Supervising for Safety (6 hours) (KCF VII.A)
- Infant/child CPR training Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) KCF VII.B
- First Aid Training (KCF VII.B)
- Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) KCF VII.B-only if caring for infants
- Abusive Head Trauma (AHT) KCF VII.B-if caring for infants or children under school age
- Child Passenger Restraint Systems (C.A.R.S.) KCFVII.B if you are going to transport children
- Select Health and Human Services
- Scroll down to Learn
- Click on CCL Online Orientation
- Click Launch
CPR - Twin Cities
Small group meeting
You'll learn about many of the specific child care licensing requirements and have the opportunity to ask questions. You will receive a second packet of forms to complete and return. You will also receive instructions on completing a child care licensing fire inspection.
This is a process that includes everyone living and working in the child care home and reference checks.
Complete these items for your first home visit:
- Three references
- Fire inspection
- Small group packet forms
- Background checks done by the Minnesota Department of Human Services Netstudy 2.0 (additional fees are associated with the background study for each person needing a background study).
Home visit by a licensor
The licensor will visit you at your home and will determine any necessary corrections before you're eligible to be licensed. Multiple home visits might be required. Two home visits are typical to complete the application process.
Once you and your home are in full compliance with child care licensing rules, the county will recommend that the Minnesota Department of Human Services issue your license.
Barriers to licensure can include:
- Background checks - everyone in your household or working in the day care must receive clearance. The Minnesota Department of Human Services processes disqualifications, which will take more time.
- Fences - locations near heavy traffic, railroads, or water hazards such as ponds, marshes, or lakes may require a fence that meets city code and licensing requirements.
- Pools and water features - swimming pools or water features in your yard must be separated from children’s outdoor play space by fencing that meets city code and licensing requirements.
- Fire inspections and safety requirements - you may need to make changes to your home after fire or licensing inspections.
- Your house - we will check all areas of your house and property for certain safety items.
Public information about you
With the exception of personal information and personal financial data, information classified as public will be shared with others upon request such as your name, address, phone number, licensed capacity, and type of children preferred, as well as any information about complaints filed about your child care, disqualifications or negative actions. We are required by law to share public information with interested persons who call to inquire about your business.
Your day care file may be used in several ways:
- Information about you that is classified as private will be shared with the Department of Human Services to assist it in granting or denying your license.
- Public information about you can be shared with parents considering placement of their child in your day care home.
- Information about you may be used for studies related to family day care, but your name or any identifying information would not be revealed.
- Information about you can be shared with community child care referral sources, with your permission.
- No information will be given to any other agency or individual without your consent; however, state and federal law can have exceptions including a court order for release of information, or a criminal or civil investigation about you as a day care provider.
- After a limited period of time when you are no longer licensed, your file will be destroyed.
You have the right to view your licensing file (except for information that is legally classified as confidential, or private information collected on other household members). You also have the right to have its meaning explained to you if you wish.
If you want to see your file:
- Talk to your licensing worker. Ask about seeing your day care file, and request the form to see it.
- Complete the written request provided by your worker. A time will then be arranged for you to review your file within 10 business days.
- At any time, you can request copies of any papers in your file. You will then be required to pay copying costs.
Your right to challenge
If you find inaccurate information in your file, notify your licensing worker in writing. Within 30 days the county must correct the information and attempt to notify anyone who has received inaccurate information in the past, including anyone you name. If the county maintains that the data is correct, it must notify you. After that, to use any data you challenge, the county must attach your explanation.
In general, if you have questions about your data privacy rights or believe they may have been violated, please contact our licensing staff. If you are not satisfied with the response, you can contact the Minnesota Department of Human Services Commissioner.
Your privacy and others
During the licensing study, you will also receive a copy of our brochure entitled "Your Rights to Equal Access and Privacy." This will give you more details about your privacy rights. If you have any questions about these rights, please discuss them with your licensing worker. Your privacy is a legal right, but respect and concern for personal privacy is an important consideration for everyone. As a day care provider, we expect you will keep private any information that you may learn about children in day care and their families. This contributes to the essential atmosphere of trust and respect among day care providers, Hennepin County, and families. Respect for privacy means respect for people. And, that goes beyond legal rights.