Marriage

If you are getting married, need to file a marriage license or certificate, or need documentation of a marriage, this is the place to start.

Expand all information

Marriage license

A marriage license purchased in Minnesota only allows you to be married in Minnesota. Your marriage license is valid for six months.

How to start

Use an option below to begin your application process now. Do not sign your application until you are asked at the service center.

  • Start your online application, print and bring the receipt to any service center to complete the application process and receive your license.
  • Download the marriage license application (PDF), print and bring it to any service center to complete the application process and receive your license.  Do not sign the application until you are asked at the service center.
  • You may come in and fill out your application by hand.

How to apply

You may stop in or make an appointment at any Hennepin County service center.

What to bring

  • EITHER the printed receipt from your online marriage application process, OR your license application (PDF) - unless you prefer to complete it by hand at the service center
  • Both applicants should come in, but if one of you can't
    • Complete party not appearing form (PDF), signature of the person not appearing must be notarized on this form
    • Person not appearing must also have their signature notarized on the license application (PDF)
    • Both forms must be presented at the time of the marriage application
  • Identification such as a driver's license or state ID
  • If you are divorced
    • You will need to supply us with the exact date your divorce was finalized; as well as the county, state and court where the divorce occurred.
    • From California or Wisconsin, you can’t apply for a Minnesota license until six (6) months after the divorce was finalized.
  • If one or both of you has a felony conviction, you must provide proof of service papers (MS 259.13)

Fee

Additional information

  • A packet of information will be given to you with your license
  • Your license may be used for six months anywhere in Minnesota
  • A marriage must be witnessed by two adults (16 or older)
  • Neither of you is required to be a Minnesota resident
  • Minnesota Marriage License Application Statute 517.08
  • An official who marries a couple should review the filing of a marriage license procedure below
  • Notary services are available at all service centers

Marriage certificate or record application

A certified copy of a marriage record verifies that a marriage has taken place and must be applied for in the county where the original marriage license application was made.

If the original marriage license application was made in Hennepin County, a certified copy can be requested at any of our service center locations. You may also apply by mail or fax.

To get a marriage certificate you need to provide the correct marriage date and applicant names. If you don't know the date and names, we can search for $20 per hour ($10 minimum) in addition to the cost of the copy.

Check the status of your order

Get your copy by mail

Your order will be processed in 7 - 10 business days from the date we receive your request. Expedited processing is available for an additional $20. Expedited requests will be processed the same day. 

  1. Complete the marriage record application (PDF).
  2. Print and sign the application.
  3. Include check or money order payment.
    • Each certified copy: $9
    • (Optional) Expedite same day processing fee: $20
  4. Mail your completed and signed application, along with check or money order to the address on the application. For expedited processing include the $20 expedite fee and write "Expedite" on the outside of your envelope.

Get your copy in person

  1. Complete the marriage record application (PDF).
  2. Print and sign the application.
  3. Bring the application and payment to any Hennepin County Service Center.
  • Each certified copy: $9 – generally issued at time of application
  • Copies applied for at the University of Minnesota location will be mailed
  • Payment options

Get your copy by FAX

Your order will be processed in 7 - 10 business days from the date we receive your request. Expedited processing is available for an additional $20. Expedited requests received by 2 p.m. CST will be processed that same day. Expedited requests received after 2 p.m. will be processed the next business day.

  1. Begin your order at VitalChek.
  2. After placing your order print the Vital Records Authorization and sign it.
  3. Fax your signed authorization form to 612-348-2010.
  4. For $20 expedited processing write "Expedite" on the authorization form.

Cost

  • Each certified copy: $9
  • VitalChek fee: $7
  • (Optional) UPS express mail: $20
  • (Optional) Expedite processing: $20

If you are unable to place your order through VitalChek

  1. Complete the marriage record application (PDF).
  2. Print and sign the application.
  3. Submit the marriage record application and this fax cover sheet (PDF) by FAX to 612-348-2010.

Filing a marriage license

Within five days after the marriage ceremony, the official who performed the marriage must file the marriage license with the county.

Instructions were included in the packet issued to the applicants when they applied for their marriage license.

What the official will do after the ceremony

  • Print or type the names of the witnesses along with your name (the official) and credentials on the appropriate lines.
  • The applicants, witnesses, and official must sign the license.
  • Complete souvenir copies of the marriage license and give to the party(s).
  • Make sure the license is complete and return it in the pre-addressed envelope within FIVE (5) DAYS of the ceremony to the:

DIRECTOR OF LICENSING
MARRIAGE LICENSE DEPARTMENT
Hennepin County Government Center
A Level - Suite A-025
300 South 6th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55487-0026

Additional information

Collapse all information
Top