Jan Callison, District 6

Welcome and thank you for visiting my webpage. As county commissioner for the District 6, I am committed to:

  • Responding to today’s challenges with practical, common-sense leadership; innovative practices; and fiscal responsibility.
  • Building toward the future, particularly in the areas of transportation, health care and workforce development.
  • Listening to and speaking out on behalf of the residents and communities of this strong and vibrant area of Hennepin County.
Expand all information

Leadership positions

Hennepin County

  • Chair, Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority
  • Co-Chair, Intergovernmental Relations Committee
  • Vice-Chair, Administration, Libraries, and Budget
  • Hennepin Healthcare System Board

Other positions


Jan Callison represents the 6th District, which includes all or part of the following cities: Deephaven, Eden Prairie, Edina, Excelsior, Greenwood, Hopkins, Long Lake, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, Mound, Orono, Shorewood, Spring Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, and Woodland.

Jan was elected to the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners in 2008 and re-elected in 2012 and 2016. Jan served as Chair of the County Board from 2015-2019. She currently Chairs the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority.

As a group, county commissioners provide leadership and oversight for county government. Services provided by Hennepin County include transportation and public works, health programs, libraries, social services, law enforcement, corrections, public records and environmental services.

Commissioners do much of their work in committees with each commissioner sitting as a member of each committee. In addition to chairing the Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority, Jan serves on the Hennepin County Housing and Redevelopment Authority and on the Hennepin Healthcare System (HHS) Board, which governs the operations of Hennepin Healthcare.

Jan is also a member of groups such as the Southwest Light Rail Transit Corridor Management Committee, Southwest Light Rail Transit Executive Change Control Board, Southwest Light Rail Transit Community Works Steering Committee, the Association of Minnesota Counties, the Regional Workforce Board, Hennepin-University Partnership, Metropolitan Mosquito Control District, the Riverview Corridor Policy Advisory Committee, and the RailVolution National Steering Committee.

Jan’s introduction to government service began in Minnetonka where she was elected mayor in 2005 following 12 years of service as an at-large member of the City Council. Her education includes degrees from Morningside College, Johns Hopkins University and Harvard Law School.

Jan and husband Fred Reuning have lived in Minnetonka since 1987 where they raised three children who attended the Minnetonka Public Schools.

Collapse all information