Skip navigation

Emergency medical services planning and regulation

If you are having a medical emergency right now, call 911.

A core public health function is to assure that emergency medical services are available to the public. The county provides planning support and regulatory oversight for the county’s emergency medical services system and assures coordinated emergency response to 911 calls. The system includes five advanced life support ambulance providers authorized by the state to operate within Hennepin County, public safety agencies (police and fire departments), and hospitals.

Open all

Council and committee meeting calendar

  • 2022 EMS Council calendar (PDF)
  • Dates, times and locations are subject to change. Please contact the email address below if you are a guest who does not receive email meeting notices to check if a meeting has been cancelled on short notice.

Meeting agendas and summaries

Ambulance medical directors subcommittee

Ambulance service personnel subcommittee


Executive committee

Medical standards committee

Operations committee

Ordinance 9 workgroup

Quality committee

Meeting location codes, addresses and maps

EF = Edina Fire

Map: Edina Fire
6250 Tracy Avenue, Edina, MN 55436

FVSD = Fairview Southdale Hospital

Map: Fairview Southdale Hospital
6401 France Avenue South, Edina, MN 55435

HF = Hopkins Fire Department

Map: Hopkins Fire Department
101 South 17th Avenue, Hopkins, MN 55343

HSB = Health Services Building

Map: Health Services Building
525 Portland Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55415

NAS = North Ambulance Service

Map: North Ambulance Service
4501 North 68th Avenue, Brooklyn Center, MN 55429

212 MC = 212 Medical Center

Map: 212 Medical Center
111 Hundertmark Road, Chaska, MN 55318

Bylaws and membership

Five Advanced Life Support ambulance services provide emergency medical care to people in Hennepin County. They work in primary service areas assigned by the state Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board (EMSRB).

Advanced Life Support service providers by city

Primary service areas are legal geographic descriptions and many times do not coincide with county or city boundaries. They are listed below by city with a description in lay terms. The Minnesota EMSRB maintains legal descriptions for all primary service areas in the state.

Designated EMS service areas

  • Bloomington – Allina Medical Transportation
  • Brooklyn Center – North Ambulance Service
  • Brooklyn Park – North Ambulance Service
  • Champlin – Allina Medical Transportation (primary)
  • Champlin – North Ambulance Service (secondary)
  • Chanhassen (portion located in Hennepin County) – Ridgeview Ambulance Service
  • Corcoran – North Ambulance Service
  • Crystal – North Ambulance Service
  • Dayton – North Ambulance Service (primary)
  • Dayton – Allina Medical Transportation (secondary)
  • Deephaven – Hennepin EMS
  • Eden Prairie – Hennepin EMS
  • Edina – Edina Fire
  • Excelsior – Hennepin EMS
  • Fort Snelling – Allina Medical Transportation
  • Golden Valley (Southeast area South of Highway 394 and East of Highway 100 regardless of community) – Hennepin EMS
  • Golden Valley (West of Highway 100) – North Ambulance Service
  • Greenfield – North Ambulance Service
  • Greenwood – Hennepin EMS
  • Hanover – North Ambulance Service
  • Hassan – North Ambulance Service
  • Hopkins – Hennepin EMS
  • Independence – North Ambulance Service
  • Long Lake – North Ambulance Service
  • Loretto – North Ambulance Service
  • Maple Grove – North Ambulance Service
  • Maple Plain – North Ambulance Service
  • Medicine Lake – North Ambulance Service
  • Medina – North Ambulance Service
  • Minneapolis (both sides of Plymouth and Penn Avenues, and all other areas of Minneapolis not covered by NMTS) – Hennepin EMS
  • Minneapolis (North and West of the line formed by Plymouth Avenue East from the city limits to Penn, North on Penn, East on Golden Valley Road, North on Girard and East on Broadway to the Mississippi River. Of this line, NMTS will serve both sides of Golden Valley Road, Girard Avenue and Broadway) – North Ambulance Service
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport – Allina Medical Transportation
  • Minnetonka (Highway 394 and North of Highway 394, Ridgedale Shopping Center and Hillcrest Nursing Home) – North Ambulance Service
  • Minnetonka (South of 394, except Ridgedale Shopping Center and Hillcrest Nursing Home) – Hennepin EMS
  • Minnetonka Beach – North Ambulance Service
  • Minnetrista – Ridgeview Ambulance Service
  • Mound – Ridgeview Ambulance Service
  • New Hope – North Ambulance Service
  • Orono – North Ambulance Service
  • Osseo – North Ambulance Service
  • Plymouth – North Ambulance Service
  • Richfield – Hennepin EMS
  • Robbinsdale – North Ambulance Service
  • Rockford – North Ambulance Service
  • Rogers – North Ambulance Service
  • Saint Anthony (portion located in Hennepin County) – Hennepin EMS
  • Saint Bonifacius – Ridgeview Ambulance Service
  • Saint Louis Park – Hennepin EMS
  • Shorewood (East of Highway 19 to Country Club Road South to Tee Terrace to Wood Drive to Highway 7) – Hennepin EMS
  • Shorewood (West of the boundary of Highway 19 to Country Club Road South to Tee Terrace to Wood Drive to Highway 7) – Ridgeview Ambulance Service
  • Spring Park – North Ambulance Service
  • Tonka Bay – Hennepin EMS
  • Wayzata – North Ambulance Service
  • Woodland – Hennepin EMS


Open all