Housing plans and accomplishments

Hennepin County receives federal funding from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) for housing and community development projects in suburban cities. The county works with suburban cities to use these funds for a variety of purposes and projects that primarily serve low and moderate income residents and families.

Additionally, four suburban cities receive federal funding directly from HUD: Bloomington, Eden Prairie, Minnetonka, and Plymouth. These cities prepare their own plans and reports that are also included on this page.

Federal funding for housing and community development is provided to the county and partner cities through three primary federal programs:

  • Community Development Block Grant (CDBG)
  • HOME Investment Partnerships
  • Emergency Solutions Grant

Below, you can find more information about how funding through these programs is used in Hennepin County, including plans, goals and accomplishments.

Expand all information

Help set priorities for federal housing funds

Share your affordable housing priorities for suburban Hennepin County

Hennepin County is in the process of updating our five-year plan that guides the use of federal housing funds. Each year, the county receives around $6 million from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development for suburban housing and community development projects and services.

To guide the use of these funds, Hennepin County works with cities, residents, and other partners to set goals and priorities for affordable housing and community development in suburban communities. These priorities also help shape broader affordable housing efforts by the county and partner cities.

The next five-year plan for 2020-2024 is now under development and there are several ways you can provide feedback. Understanding your personal housing experiences and priorities will help inform how federal funds are invested in your community.

Attend a listening session


Brooklyn Center


What to expect

Each listening session will include:

  • An overview of the five-year plan
  • Presentation of current housing data and trends in suburban cities
  • Facilitated small group discussions
  • Goals and priorities ranking activity

If you need additional accommodations such as a language interpreter, assisted hearing equipment, or childcare, please contact Julia Welle Ayres at julia.welleayres@hennepin or 612-596-9875, at least three days before the event.

Take a short survey

You can also provide input through a quick and easy online survey. It can be completed in less than five minutes and you choose how much feedback and information to share.

Take the survey now.

2019 annual housing and community development action plan

The 2019 draft housing and development action plan shows how Hennepin County and city partners plan to use approximately $4.7 million from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) for housing and development projects and activities in suburban Hennepin County cities.

Programs included in the plan:

  • Community Development Block Grant (CDBG)
  • HOME Investment Partnership (HOME)
  • Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG)

The Hennepin County draft action plan includes the proposed use of funds from these programs in all but four suburban cities: Bloomington, Eden Prairie, Minneapolis, Minnetonka, and Plymouth. These cities receive funding from these programs directly from HUD and prepare their own action plans, which are also included below. The city of Minneapolis as a separate planning and reporting process, which can be found here.

View the plan

In addition to the digital version linked below, hard copies of the plan are also available at Hennepin County Ridgedale, Southdale, and Brookdale libraries.

The Hennepin County plan includes all but four suburban Hennepin County cities. Bloomington, Eden Prairie, Minnetonka, and Plymouth receive funding directly from HUD and prepare separate action plans, also linked below.

Hennepin County 2019 draft action plan (PDF)

Bloomington 2019 draft action plan (PDF)

Eden Prairie 2019 draft action plan (PDF)

Minnetonka 2019 draft action plan (PDF)

Plymouth 2019 draft action plan (PDF)


Julia Welle Ayres
Manager of Housing Development and Finance
Hennepin County Community Works

2018 annual housing and community development evaluation report

Every year, Hennepin County and partner cities report and evaluate how federal funding was used for housing and community development, as well as some public service activities, in suburban cities over the previous year. This information is included in a document referred to as the Consolidated Annual Performance and Evaluation Report (CAPER). These reports are meant to show how the county and cities are working towards goals outlined in the Five-Year Consolidated Action Plan. They serve to both satisfy federal requirements and provide information to the general public.

2018 draft CAPERs

Hennepin County 2018 draft CAPER (PDF)

Bloomington 2018 draft CAPER (PDF)

Eden Prairie 2018 draft CAPER (PDF)

Minnetonka 2018 draft CAPER (PDF)

Plymouth 2018 draft CAPER (PDF)

Printed copies of all the above reports are also available at Hennepin County Southdale, Ridgedale, and Brookdale libraries.

Comment on the 2018 draft report

Public hearing September 17

Hennepin County will host a public hearing to gather comments and feedback on the draft report:

Tuesday, September 17, 1:30 p.m.
Hennepin County Government Center Board Room (A-2400)
300 South Sixth Street
Minneapolis, MN 55487

Upon request, a language interpreter, sign language interpreter, or assisted hearing equipment will be made available at the hearing. Please call 612-348-8955 at least three days prior to the meeting for any needed accommodations.

Submit written comments by September 18

You may also submit written comments on the report until 4:30 p.m., September 18, 2019. Send comments to:

Julia Welle Ayres
Hennepin County Community Works
701 4th Ave. So., Ste. 400
Mpls, MN 55415

You may also email comments to Julia.WelleAyres@hennepin.us

Previous years' plans and reports

2017 action plan

The 2017 Hennepin County Consortium Action Plan includes the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), HOME Investment Partnerships (HOME), and Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) programs. The Hennepin County Consortium consists of five entitlement jurisdictions: Hennepin County, Bloomington, Eden Prairie, Minnetonka and Plymouth.

The Action Plan identifies the proposed use of approximately $4.5 million in CDBG, HOME, and ESG funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Drafts of the 2017 action plan can be downloaded and reviewed at the links below. Public comments were accepted on this draft plan throughout April 2017.

Collapse all information