Bicycle Advisory Committee

Be a part of the county's Bicycle Advisory Committee (BAC) and you will:

  • Play a role in building the county's bicycle infrastructure
  • Bring your experience and knowledge to bicycle projects as they are being planned
  • Be in a position that officially advises the county's commissioners and staff on matters relating to bicycling
Expand all information

About the committee

Apply to join the BAC

There are currently seats available for districts 4 and 6, but you are encouraged to apply at any time for any district if you are interested.

To qualify, you must:

  • Be a resident of Hennepin County
  • Be interested in promoting the use of the bicycle for transportation and recreation
  • Make a commitment to attend monthly meetings and participate in the work of the committee

If you are interested in joining the committee, fill out the BAC application and submit it to Jordan Kocak at

Current committee members

This volunteer committee is made of up seven members and seven alternate members. Members and alternates are appointed to a three-year term. 

District 1 (Opat)

  • Tammy McLemore
  • Alternate: Gilbert Odonkor

District 2 (Fernando)

  • Kristel Porter
  • Alternate: Billy Binder

District 3 (Greene)

  • Dave Carlson
  • Alternate: Erin Daly

District 4 (Conley)

  • Open
  • Alternate: Hokan

District 5 (Goettel)

  • Judy Jones
  • Alternate: David Gepner, Chair

District 6 (Callison)

  • Peggy Kvam
  • Alternate: Open

District 7 (Johnson)

  • Greg Anderson
  • Alternate: Ron Uglow

Committee background

The committee was established in 1989 to assist the Board of Commissioners and county staff to promote and expand the use of bicycles for safe and convenient transportation and recreation in the county.

Hennepin BAC Bylaws (PDF)

1989 Board Action Request establishing the BAC (PDF)

2013 Board Action Request restructuring the BAC (PDF)

Meetings and minutes

Upcoming meetings

The committee meets on the third Monday of every month from 4 - 6 p.m. at various locations around the county. Discussion items include the status of current projects, bicycle issues, and planning studies. A bicycle tour sometimes follows meetings. Contact Jordan Kocak for upcoming meeting details at or 612-543-3377.

2019 meeting calendar (PDF)

2019 agendas and minutes

Future meeting agendas and minutes will be posted as they become available.

2019 resolutions

Meeting minutes


Collapse all information