Individual sewage treatment system program

Hennepin County provides septic inspection and an enforcement program to protect ground surface waters, provide consistent regulation across city boundaries, and prevent waterborne illness.

Expand all information


We provide a permitting and inspection program for cities that have officially delegated their programs. In these cities, we permit both residential and commercial septic systems. These include:

Bloomington Minneapolis
Brooklyn Center MSP Airport
Brooklyn Park Minnetonka
Champlin Minnetonka Beach
Corcoran Minnetrista
Crystal Mound
Deephaven Osseo
Edina Plymouth
Excelsior Robbinsdale
Golden Valley Rockford
Greenfield Rogers
Greenwood Shorewood
Long Lake St. Anthony
Maple Grove St. Bonifacius
Maple Plain Spring Park
Medicine Lake Tonka Bay

Hennepin County septic system map (PDF)

Other jurisdiction

For information on septic systems in any city not in the list above, please contact each city's building inspection department.

City Phone #
Dayton 763-427-4589
Eden Prairie 952-949-8300
Hanover 763-497-3777
Hopkins 952-935-8474
Independence 763-479-0527
Loretto 763-479-4305
Medina 763-473-4643
New Hope 763-531-5100
Orono 952-249-4600
Richfield 612-861-9700
St. Louis Park 952-924-2500
Woodland 952-474-4755 
Collapse all information