Committee Summary

Origin

Established in1967, the Minnehaha Creek Watershed District is a local unit of government responsible for managing and protecting the water resources in one of the largest and most heavily-used urban watersheds in Minnesota. Recognizing the relationship between natural and built environments, the watershed district works in partnership with public and private sectors to help protect and improve natural systems, invest in public infrastructure and improve the quality of water and life in its communities. The watershed encompasses 178 square miles and includes Lake Minnetonka, the Minneapolis Chain of Lakes, Minnehaha Creek and Minnehaha Falls.

Composition

Seven members. The Hennepin County Board of Commissioners appoints six members and the Carver County Board of Commissioners appoints one member.

Duties/Responsibilities

A watershed district manager presides over the business of the district as it relates to achieving its mission, principally by developing high impact capital projects that measurably improve the quality of the watershed. MCWD undertakes programming that spans research and monitoring, outreach, policy and project planning, and the regulation of land disturbing activities. Managers attend regularly scheduled meetings of the district board and other meetings related to the business of the district.

Term

3 years-staggered

Meetings

District board meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of each month, at 7:00 p.m. at the District office, 15320 Minnetonka Blvd., Minnetonka, MN 55345. http://www.minnehahacreek.org/.

Eligibility Requirements

Appointed by Hennepin County Board Of Commissioners : Managers may not be a public officer of the county, state or federal government and must be a resident of the district.

At Large : Managers may not be a public officer of the county, state or federal government and must be a



resident of the district.

Compensation

\$125 per meeting day

Reimbursement

Traveling & other expenses

Other Information

Experience and background in the following areas are considered helpful: public or private administration, profit or non-profit boards and commissions, water conservation, farming, land development, law, engineering, environmental policy or science. The cities of Excelsior, Greenwood, Long Lake, Minnetonka Beach, Mound, Orono, St. Bonifacius, Spring Park, Tonka Bay and Wayzata lie entirely within the district. Portions of the following cities lie within the district: Deephaven, Edina, Golden Valley, Hopkins, Independence, Maple Plain, Medina, Minneapolis, Minnetonka, Minnetrista, Plymouth, Richfield, St. Louis Park, and Shorewood.

Contact Information

Department Liaison Karen Galles	Committee Contact John Evans
(612) 348-8596	(612) 348-4046
karen.galles@hennepin.us	john.evans@hennepin.us

